A Mysterious #Washington DC Landmark: #SunTrust’s N. Capitol St. Branch

I used to visit the Dubliner, at the corner of Massachusetts Ave. and North Capitol St. frequently during my Capitol Hill drinking days.  Holding my pint of Smithwicks, I used to glance around at the patrons and the neighborhood.

Right across F St. NW from the Dubliner’s patio is a small one-story building that I always thought looked completely out of place, surrounded by nine-story square modern office buildings or colonnaded Beaux Arts monuments.  I always thought this nice looking building survived the demolition of the rest of the surrounding early 20th century neighborhood because the odd-shaped triangle it stood on defied maximization of space for a decent ROI in a modern building.  You know how these developers think–bucks first, history later.

Today, that small stone-clad grey building is a SunTrust bank branch.  But the building, built in 1926 by the same architect who designed New York’s Chrysler Building, has a very interesting past.  It was one of Washington’s first experiments in fast food restaurants, among other uses during its decades of utilitarian existence.

Read about it here, “Lost Fast Food:  Childs Restaurants in Washington.”

About lordofthehundreds

Lord of the Hundreds is a traditional sheep's milk cheese from East Sussex, U.K. It's also the name of my blog. I'm a middle-aged writer living in the Washington, D.C. area., who enjoys creating and editing posts of interest. Perhaps you'll find a few interesting posts browsing through its pages. Also, you can find me at @lordofthehundreds on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Local D.C.. Bookmark the permalink.